Water Track Speakers

Sponsored by Stantec


B. Scott Southall, PLA, LEED AP BD+C, ASLA, AICP is a principal with Earthcycle Design, LLC, a landscape architecture, urban planning, and community resilience design firm based in Lexington, KY. Scott graduated from the University of Kentucky with a Bachelor of Science in Landscape Architecture. Currently, Scott serves as one of twelve Sustainable Champion for American Planning Association (APA), serves on the steering committee of Empower Lexington (a climate action plan to reduce CO2), and as Treasurer for LFUCG’s Environmental Commission. In March 2017, Scott completed a three-day Climate Reality Leadership Corps training to become a Climate Reality Leader and served as Mentor in October, 2017. Scott is a past Chapter President and Trustee of Kentucky ASLA, past Board of Director member for Southeast Stormwater Association (SeSWA), and Market Leadership Advisory Board (MLAB) for USGBC Kentucky. Scott is a member of American Society of Landscape Architects and American Planning Association.


Jennifer Carey has been employed by the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government as its MS4 / Water Quality Section Manager since August 2014, but has been working with the city’s stormwater program since its initial Phase I permit application in the early 1990s.  As a consultant, she assisted Lexington with the implementation of its water quality monitoring program, which led to co-authoring its first Stormwater Quality Management Program, and eventually to working on the program management teams for both the city’s Consent Decree compliance and its MS4 program.  She is currently responsible for implementing the city’s Stormwater Quality Management Program, complying with its MS4 permit, and administering Lexington’s Stormwater Quality Projects Incentive Grant Program. Jennifer represents Lexington on the Kentucky Division of Water’s Wastewater Advisory Council, and their Kentucky River Basin Team, as well as the Bluegrass Area Development District’s Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Advisory Committee.

Click here for Jennifer’s presentation from the Sustainability Summit.


Ken Cooke coordinates volunteer watershed monitoring, restoration, and advocacy programs for Friends of Wolf Run, a watershed based non-profit in Lexington, KY. He retired from the Kentucky Division of Water in 2007 where he worked in the Watershed Management and Planning and Administration branches coordinating the agency’s state wide volunteer monitoring program. He specializes in volunteer recruitment, training, management, leadership development, and funding operations, having worked for the Boy Scouts of America (Aquatics Program) and American Heart Association Heart Health education programs.


Steve Evans has served as the Assistant Director of the Kentucky Water Resources Research Institute at the University of Kentucky since 2017. In this role he conducts applied water research and technical assistance, administers a statewide research grant program, and engages in outreach and training for various audiences. He has worked with communities to develop numerous watershed plans in Kentucky and has over 10 years of experience in consulting for stormwater municipalities. His focus areas include watershed management and planning, water quality monitoring and analysis tools, and translation of scientific data to public audiences. He currently serves on several stormwater advisory committees, the Interagency Technical Advisory Committee on Groundwater (chair), Kentucky River Watershed Watch (Science Advisor), and the Drinking and Wastewater Advisory Council Water Loss Subcommittee. Steve has a B.S. in Biology from the University of Kentucky and a M.A in Education from Georgetown College.

Click here for Steve’s presentation from the Sustainability Summit.