The following article is sponsored content by Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives.

Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives’ Who Powers You contest is back for 2022, and now is the time to think about who powers your community. You can nominate someone who plays a vital role in your community by going to

If you know of someone who’s making a positive impact on the environment in their community, nominate them for Who Powers You. If someone you know is modeling positive environmental behavior such as organizing cleanups, planting trees or working to make their community a nicer, more beautiful place to live, they could be rewarded for their efforts.

Nominees are eligible to win cash prizes – $1,000 for the winner, $750 second and $250 for third place.

The #WhoPowersYou contest in which we invite the public to submit photos and stories about co-op members who are making a positive impact in their co-op community.

The 2021 winner and Jackson Energy member Gabbi Hartzel (pictured above) was nominated for her creation of a women’s ministry at The Creek Church in London, Ky. Hartzel’s community outreach job at the church means that she’s often looking for ways for the church to give back to the under-privileged in the community. “Angel Tree giving, backpack drives and things like that,” Hartzell said. She also interacts virtually with churchgoers during online services, and her women’s ministry, The Well, serves women in the church and does community services like Prom Prep, which helps girls who couldn’t otherwise afford the amenities get ready for prom.

The contest was created to reward and support co-op members who are making a difference in the communities served by Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives. Co-ops serve more than 1.1 million people in 87 counties.

To make a nomination, go to You’ll simply share a photo of the nominee and a brief description of how he or she makes a difference in the community.

Nominees must also be at least 18 years old, a member of Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives (see website for complete list of co-ops) and a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident.

The contest ends October 31. Winners will be selected by a panel of out-of-state judges.